blackberry and goat cheese rolled lamb with crushed potatoes

I took a break from moving, to visit my parents in Deland, and make this delicious dish for mother’s day. I am starting the work for my BarBri class today, but still have soooo many errands and soooo much housework to do.  I feel like it would take two of me to get everything done around here. John has been so sweet, and has helped as much as he can. However, he is very busy with work and can’t take too much time to do my chores. Right now, it’s just me and my long “to do” list again.

Rolled Lamb and Blackberry Pomegranate Sauce Ingredients: 

5 pieces of lamb leg center slice (tenderized)
goat cheese
blackberries
salt (optional)
bamboo picks (toothpicks or skewers will also work)
olive oil
1 diced shallot
100% pomegranate juice
a few sprigs of rosemary (chopped)

Lay each piece of tenderized lamb flat, spread on goat cheese, and sprinkle a pinch of salt onto each piece. Then, add as many blackberries as you think you will comfortably be able to roll. For a small piece, that may only be three blackberries. Each time you roll the lamb, a blackberry should be incased within the roll. When your lamb is rolled, seal each roll with your bamboo picks. Place a pan on medium high heat, and cook each lamb roll a couple minutes on each side. When all your rolls have been seared, place them into a baking dish and cook them, uncovered, in your oven at 350°, for 20 minutes.

While your lamb is in the oven, in the same pan you seared the lamb rolls, on medium high heat, add your diced shallot and your rosemary. Cook the shallot for a couple minutes, or until you can smell its aroma. Then, add 3 handfulls of blackberries and about 2/3 cup of pomegranate juice. Eyeball your juice to make sure the pan is coated, but the blackberries are not drowning. Cook this down for a few minutes, then keep it on low until you are ready to serve. You should not have your sauce on low for very long.

The crushed potato recipe is “as seen on pinterest” and is not one of my originals. They were sooooooo good though!

Ingredients:  

a few sprigs of rosemary (chopped)
salt
fresh groung pepper
olive oil
a bag of enchanted rose potatoes (perfect for mother’s day- this is my own twist)

Directions:

Boil the potatoes until they are tender. Then, coat a baking pan with olive oil and preheat your oven to 450°. Crush each potato with your hand held masher. Then, brush olive oil onto each potato and sprinkle them all with salt, pepper, and rosemary. Bake them for 20 minutes and serve them hot, with your lamb. I baked mine before I put my lamb in the oven, and kept them warm in my toaster oven.

19 thoughts on “blackberry and goat cheese rolled lamb with crushed potatoes

  1. Oh my yes! Every ingredient in this is one of my favourites. I cannot resist lamb or goats cheese and blackberries are my favourite berry… amazing! (I’m not making any of that up)

  2. oh my goodness!! This looks so professionally done!! I’m sure it would taste as great too!! I’m really loving the flavour combinations here!

Leave a Reply

