shrimp pad thai

As most of you know, I have been drowning under a mound of books. I am proud to announce that I am finally done with law school!!! I am graduating next week and I couldn’t be more happy:] Everyone on here has been so sweet, and the nice comments I saw, the few times I signed on, really kept me going<3

As a treat, I am laying by the pool, drinking margaritas, and posting one of my favorite munchies. This is a real authentic tasting recipe. I hope you like it!

Ingredients:

2 jalapenos (cut thinly)
2/3 a package of spicy tofu (chopped into little cubes)
1/3 cup of fish sauce
1/2 cup of brown sugar (loose cup)
1 package bean sprouts
2/3 lb shrimp (peeled, but you can leave the tails on)
1 and 1/2 whole packages KA*ME Stir-Fry Thai Rice Noodles
3 large eggs (scrambled)
sesame oil on hand (you can dilute it with coconut oil, if you have any)
a smidgen less than 1/3 cup of Thai Kitchen Original Pad Thai Sauce
1 lime (cut into little wedges)
1 pinch of salt (optional)
A few teaspoons of pickled garlic (or 3 garlic cloves minced)

“Extras” that I rarely add, but are delicious:

chopped peanuts
cilantro
green onions

Directions:

In a small sauce pan, on medium heat, add your brown sugar, fish sauce, garlic, and Pad Thai Sauce. Stir the mixture often and keep the mixture on low, after it boils once, until you need it. Next, add a little sesame oil to a pan and heat it on medium high heat. When the pan is hot, fry the tofu for a couple minutes. Then, add your shrimp and salt to your pan, and cook everything until the shrimp all turn pink. When the shrimp are done, put the shrimp and tofu in a large mixing or serving bowl. Next, add more sesame oil to the pan and throw in your jalapenos. After about a minute, add your bean sprouts, and cook them both until your bean sprouts are at a desired consistency. Put the veggies in the same large mixing bowl and put a splash more of your sesame oil in your tired pan. Add one packet of noodles to the pan. Each whole noodle package should contain 2 packets. You are going to add a few spoon fulls of your sauce mixture to the noodles, and you may want to throw a splash of water on the noodles too, to help losen them up. The noodles need to be flipped and prodded a few times to get them to separate. When the noodles are done, add them to the mixing bowl, and repeat the process two more times. Lastly, fry your eggs in sesame oil, add them to the rest of the ingredients, and mix everything together. Serve each plate with a few lime wedges, to squeeze over the dish. If you want to add any “extras,” do so when you serve each plate.

25 thoughts on “shrimp pad thai

  1. I was thinking about you yesterday and wondered how the studying and exams were going. Big celebrations next week 🙂 Congratulations.
    Regards Florence x

  2. Congratulations and good luck with the upcoming FB. You have posted one of my favorite meals which I haven’t had in a long time. Thanks.

  3. Congratulations!!! That is so great! And so is pad thai. One of my favorites 🙂 I’ll be making this for sure! My kids adore pad thai with chicken or tofu or shrimp or a bucket of broccoli- with all the extras of course!

  4. Congrats!!! That is so awesome – and I’m very glad you know how to relax a bit with your drink by the pool. And this pad thai looks really good – I love pad thai, but am way too intimidated to make it.

  5. I am so glad you have law school behind you and you will be graduating soon!! Yea!!! Take your time by the pool, it is very much deserved! Your dish looks very scrumptious!

  6. Yay!! So proud of you. I am fully aware of the effort it takes to get your Juris Doctor degree. I still hope you will post a pix of you in your gown and hood! Just got Son’s formal pictures – very proud moment!

  7. Wow!! Congratulations!! I can’t believe you finished Law School and kept a blog up, lol, I’m struggling with just the blog side of things:) You must feel so proud and so free!! Enjoy!!!! xo Smidge

Leave a Reply

