honey beer bread

I saw the lovely beer bread Creative Noshing  posted a week ago, and got to thinking, how had I never made this before? I was originally just going to try that great looking recipe, but after talking to my mom, I realized that she had found another great recipe. I made the one my mom had and it turned out beautifully!

This recipe yields a hearty and rich bread with a distinct flavor. This bread is perfect for stews or any saucy meal. I made it with chili, and it was a welcomed change to the cornbread or rice I usually make. I used Yuengling, and I think the flavor would have been too strong if I had used a more robust beer, or had not made it with honey, but to each her own. This is such a quick and easy bread recipe, it is definitely worth a go! What else was I going to do with the one beer that had been sitting in my fridge since my birthday in August? My best friends from Tallahassee: Annick, Melody, Jessica, Kyle, and Kyllllleeeee came to visit for my birthday, and I have not had a weekend that fun since. They came, met all my lovely law school and Deland best friends, partied, sat out by the pool, played around town, brought a bunch of booze, and left a single beer. That beer would sit lonely until today, when I made it into bread. I can’t get tipsy off one beer and I aim to get tipsy when I drink beer, so this recipe was the perfect way to utilize “the lone beer.” ❤ Love you guys, this post is for you, cheers!

5 tablespoons of melted butter
1 heaping tablespoon of raw honey (I used orange blossom)
1.5 cups or one can of beer (I used a bottle, “the lone beer,” and measured it)
3 cups of all purpose flour (sifted)
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon garlic salt (The original recipe called for plain salt, but I had run out. I think this worked out very well.)

Preheat your oven to 350°. Whisk all the dry ingredients together and then pour in the honey and beer. Mix everything up with a large spoon. You may have to use your hands a little, I did. Pour about 1/3 of your melted buter into your baking dish or loaf pan, and smear it up the sides. When the pan is well greased, chuck your batter in and cover it with the rest of your butter. Bake your bread until it is golden brown. For me, that was 55 minutes, but my mom’s recipe said 50. I would say to keep an eye on it.

It’s that easy! This is one of the easiest most convenient bread recipes I have ever made. I am glad “the lone beer” made it home and out of the cold. I definitely got a kick out of using it. At a time when I barely have time to post and definitely don’t have time to see my friends, being able to remember better times is a godsend.

27 thoughts on “honey beer bread

    • I just don’t know how yours turned out so smooth. I know the baking powder measurements were different and some of my butter is supposed to be on the bottom, but otherwise it is surprising how different mine looks. Do you know why?

      • Your base recipe is almost identical so one of three things could change the texture: 1. Old baking powder– after 6 months baking powder’s active ingredients start to lose efficacy. 2. Too much flour, meaning sift, spoon into measures and scrape exact measure across top. 3. If you did 1 and 2, then the additional liquid from the honey needs another teaspoon or so of baking powder to give the bread a little more lift. Hope this helps.

      • Thank you! My mom made the same recipe, but added 1/2 the butter to the flour and hers was similar to how yours looks. I loved it either way, but was surprised at how different they looked. I think I may have used too much flour. You are probably right. Also this recipe calls for less baking powder. Maybe that makes the difference. The outside was like a biscuit though and I loved that. I really loved how it was, just wished it was prettier.

  1. oooh!! It’s the notorious honey beer bread that I’ve heard so much about! I haven’t tried this one yet but it’s definitely on my “to make” list! Great job on your delectable bread!

  2. I’ve been like a bread baking junkie these last couple of weeks. I, too, spied that beer bread from Creative Noshing and have been dying to make it. Love the addition of honey! This looks awesome. Makes me wanna make turkey meatball sandwiches and use this bread to soak up the sauce!

    • Well, if you want a smoother bread use her recipe. Mine has a few different measurements and has a biscuit like crust. I love it though! You should definitely do that! Let me kno if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

