coconut shrimp paleo roll

You read it right, I dreamt up a Paleo sushi recipe, and put it into action! I absolutely love sushi, but the rice and all the soy sauce are bad bad bad! To make one of my favorite treats healthier, I looked to the Paleo diet. I invited my lovely friend Jess (who has become my paleo guru) over, and we had a lovely time making sushi and letting our pups play.

Before I get started on my recipe, I want to thank all the gracious bloggers who have given me awards. I am so sorry I have not posted them. I have 3 weeks left of law school and I’m drowning under research. I am afraid I may not post while I am studying for the FL Bar and I will likely not be up to date with what all you lovely bloggers are doing. I can’t wait until it is all over and I can have fun again. That being said, I found a wonderful blog, written by a beautiful girl, that I would like to say is definitely one of the bloggers I would pass an award on to. Check her out at Cibus Amare

Sushi Ingredients:

1/3 lb uncooked shrimp with no shells
1/3 lb sushi grade salmon (cut lengthwise)
2 mexican avocados (or one of the larger kinds)
1/2 a lime
1 cucumber (peeled and cut lengthwise)
about 1/3 of a can of coconut milk
about 1/3 a cup of coconut flour
coconut oil on hand
nori seaweed paper

Soy Sauce Substitute:

a splash of coconut milk
sriracha (as much as you like, I like a lot)

Directions: 

First, I covered the raw shrimp in coconut milk and put them in my fridge for a couple hours. Then, I coated each piece with coconut flour and fried them in coconut oil. I only used enough coconut oil to coat the pan, and had to watch out for a few splatters. When the shrimp were done cooking, I chopped off their tails, and cut them in half lengthwise. However, while the shrimp were cooking, I put all my avocado meat and hand squeezed my lime half into my magic bullet and combined them. When that was done, I laid out nori on my bamboo sushi roller and stacked all my ingredients (closer to the top half ) on my nori. Then, I smeared a little of the avocado paste on the nori and rolled. I repeated this process 5 times. Then, I cut my rolles into bite sized pieces. I don’t own a very sharp knife, so this was a little difficult for me, since the avocado makes this a more moist roll. My advice would be to use your sharpest knife.

John’s mom gave me this fun sushi plate and I am glad I finally got to use it. Jessica and I had so much fun, and the sushi was absolutely delicious! A definite win for the Paleo world.

34 thoughts on “coconut shrimp paleo roll

  1. Love it! Love it so much I’m pinning it! Get that research completed! The Bar is coming soon and I know you are so busy as there is much flurry at this house as well. Jered said the other day he had 11 more days of class………..yours is probably roughly the same. You’re on the downhill side and very soon you will have completed a major milestone in your life. Congratulations! I expect to see a picture of you in your hood and gown as soon as it arrives! Take care. I’ll miss your posts!

      • You will too! Of course since I work in public service, I want to extol the virtues of legal help for those who are disenfranchised, and while there isn’t as much money in it as private practice – you feel really good most of the time! 🙂

  2. Wow beautiful! Good job! Let’s see Florida bar vs. posting on your blog…..I don’t know, close call, but I guess we will let this one slide! lol, I wish you well on all your studying and taking the bar! Good luck!

    • Thank you soooo much! I will deff try and post to calm myself in my free time. I will keep yall updated. I just may not be really timely and definately won’t be able to interact as well as I would like.

  3. Hi!
    I had no idea about the paleo diet…It sounds fine, I’m on a low carbs diet right now and this one sounds very similar to the montignac diet. How is it working for you?
    Good luck with the exams 😉

    • I am terrible at keeping up with it. I try to just cut out some of the bad things every day, but it is very intricate. You must look it up. All my friends with the time to do it, look amazing and feel great!

  4. Good luck on your Bar Exams!!! I know that can be so stressful so it is a good thing you made this lovely healthy sushi dish to get you through your difficult study days. Take care, BAM

  5. What a wonderful recipe! So creative! haha. I should definitely try this one out. In a way I’m kind of sick of the regular sushi because I worked at 2 sushi restaurants when I was going to university.. Speaking of which…. good luck on your bar exam!! All the best! 😀

  6. I am so impressed! I don’t think I’d have the guts to even attempt sushi. This looks very good! And good luck with your classes (and the upcoming Bar) – I think we’ll all understand if you’re a tad preoccupied. 🙂

Leave a Reply

