paleo pasta aka spaghetti squash

My friend Jessica cooked me a lovely Paleo dinner (again) the other day. I love getting together with her because she always teaches me new things, or in the case of this pasta revamped an old favorite. I really love this recipe because I learned a new way of cooking spaghetti squash and a fresh Paleo sauce.

With summer coming up, a recipe like this is a must! I cannot walk away from pasta for a whole summer, this is a delicious substitute. Even if you are not Paleo, you can use this recipe and save your splurging for something like a fattening side, a night of cocktails, or a big piece of chocolate chip cheesecake (the cheesecake isn’t Paleo).

Jessica trying her best to chop the hard spagetti squash in half. They were tough customers to wrestle. I cut the other one in half and had to use all my might!

Ingredients: 

2 small spagetti squash (or one large one)
1/2 onion (red or yellow)
2lbs ground beef (or ground turkey, or ground chicken)
3 heirloom tomatoes (if they are on the small side, use 4)
sea salt on hand
pinch of pepper
garlic powder on hand
dried basil on hand
pinch of cayenne pepper
1 bay leaf
splash of red wine
3 garlic cloves

Directions:

Sauce: 

The sauce is a very simple sauce and was very easy to make. Begin by browning your meat. When the meat is close to done, add a shake of each dry spice and your bay leaf. While that is simmering, add all the rest of the ingredients, but the spagetti squash and red wine, to a food processor. Combine the processed mixture to the browned meat and simmer. When everything is commingled well, add the splash of wine and keep the sauce on low until you are ready to serve.

Spaghetti Squash:

Chop each squash in half and remove their seeds. Then, put the 4 halves into a pressure cooker, add the requisite amount of water your cooker uses, and cook the squash for 15-20 minutes. This process makes the spaghetti squash amazingly loose and easy to scrape out of the squash shell. If you do not have a pressure cooker, place the halves in the oven at 325°, with a drizzle of olive oil, for about an hour. You will have to check, to make sure the squash halves are tender enough to scrape. However you cook the squash halves, they should be tender enough to scrape their spaghetti like innards out with a fork.

I really like the sweet way the spagetti squash livened up the simple pasta sauce, and filled me up without tiring me out. This is a very versatile recipe, there are lots of pasta sauce recipes that could go on top of spaghetti squash, but this one is Paleo and simple:]

30 thoughts on “paleo pasta aka spaghetti squash

  1. You know, I’ve never made spaghetti squash and it looks so good in your photos. Looks like I had better start doing my strengthening exercises so I’ll be able to cut one in half. Love your sauce recipe…looks totally versatile. Thanks for the inspiration today! Making this when we get back into town. 🙂

  2. I love spaghetti squash–all winter squash, really! I don’t eat meat but make it with a tomato sauce and a bit of cheese. Yum! And it’s so cute in your photo of the finished dish–it looks like spaghetti!

  3. Squash (except yellow summer squash) always seems so unreasonable to me (cause you have to hack them apart!). Because I don’t like negotiating with my gourds, I’ve never tried spaghetti squash. But yours is so pretty! So now I think I will.

  4. This recipe looks great. I LOVE spaghetti squash, but was always afraid I was going to cut myself when trying to cut through it. I found a recipe that explains how to roast it whole. Once it is done roasting, it is much easier to cut open and scrape it out.

Leave a Reply

