paleo coconut shrimp soup

My friend Jess and I made this delicious soup on the same night that we made the paleo coconut cookies. We really made a night of it. I had a great time with her and I learned soooo much! I think we will be getting together again this weekend, so hopefully I will have some cool new facts to share.

Regrettably, I have not been that good about eating Paleo. I have been eating more veggies and fruits and less grains, so I am trying. I use the cookie recipe sometimes to make breakfast muffins. I just add more banana and subtract the coconut topping. They really are amazing and so is this soup!

One of the best things about this soup is how easy it is to make. You could easily make this on a busy work week and be very pleased with your healthy and exotic dinner.  Another plus is that you will have plenty of leftovers for the next day.

Ingredients: 

2 lemongrass stalks (bruised and cut into 2 inch pieces)
2 bock choy bundles (chopped up)
3 cups broccoli florets (chopped up)
2 cans coconut milk (Arroyo D brand is the best!)
1 pound of shrimp (we used a little less and I bought shrimp with heads because they are so much more flavorful and fresh)
a sprinkle of black pepper
a few drops of vinegar
a few drops of soy sauce

Directions: 

Add everything, but the shrimp and pepper to a large soup pot and bring to a simmer. Let it all simmer for about 5 mintes before adding your shrimp. Once the shrimp turns pink, add the pepper and serve. Yes, this soup is that easy!

With a soup that is this easy to make, there is no excuse not to be healthy! Did I mention that it was delicious? Jessica ate the soup as is, which is Paleo. I was bad and added rice, which is not the worst thing to add, but rice is definitely not Paleo. I also ate my portion with Kimchi. Kimchi is actually Paleo, which is wonderful because (in my opinion) it added a much needed spiciness.

I am going to keep learning and keep trying to find healthy versions of recipes I love. It is never too soon, or too late, to better your life by bettering your health.

17 thoughts on “paleo coconut shrimp soup

  1. Coconut milk is awesome!! I wonder how much Arroy D is priced for there. Over here it’s about 1.60 per can! hmmm.. those flavours mixed together seem like the perfect southeast asian cuisine!

  2. This looks super wonderful. Your cookie post was the first I had ever heard of Paleo, but if it weren’t for my trusty laptop I’d be close to isolation over here, so that’s no surprise. This soup would make a delicious lunch for two, I think. But I’m sorry to say shrimp heads (really the heads of anything at all…) sorta freak me out.

Leave a Reply

