paleo coconut cookies

After hearing from a few friends about the Paleo diet, how it has given them so much energy and keeps them at a steady weight, I have decided to dabble in a few Paleo recipes. I am not big on diets, but I know there are healthy tips to be garnered from every health craze.

Since the Paleo diet is down on wheat and sugars, I thought these cookies would turn out bland. I was beyond wrong. They had a deep subtlety of flavor and were very filling as far as cookies go. They had more of a scone’s utility, but a cookie’s shape. I have actually found myself craving them like I would crave a meal and may add them to my list of favorites. I would kill for a few right now in fact!

I’d like to thank my lovely friend Jessica for coming over, sharing a few recipes with me and munching out. You are the greatest and I look forward to more dinners with you:]

These are Jessica’s hands in my tiny kitchen. This recipe is a messy one. Darwin is below, trying to find fallen morsels. Puppy tip of the day: apple skins are a good treat for dogs. Make sure there are no seeds mixed in though, those can be dangerous.

Ingredients: 

2 bananans smashed into small chunks with a fork
1 apple cored and peeled
1/3 cup walnuts
1/3 cup coconut flour
3/4 cup almond butter
1/3 cup coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon cinnamon
coconut (optional to sprinkle on top)

Directions:

I put the apple and walnuts into my blender and made a lovely paste. Then, Jessica mixed all the ingredients together and rolled them into pretty balls. That is how she got her hands so messy. Lastly, I sprinkled the cookies with coconut and we put them in the oven at 350° for 20-25 minutes.

The cookies turned out beautifully! I had 2 for breakfast the next day with a glass of coconut milk beverage. Jessica got me the coconut milk beverage at Whole Foods, which is where she got most of the ingredients for this recipe. The cookies were truly filling and scrumptious for breakfast. Just look at the ingredients! These are the most guilt free and energy packed cookies I have ever had.

I may never go fully Paleo, but this is one recipe I am keeping for every day snacking:]

25 thoughts on “paleo coconut cookies

  1. These look good. I don’t do Paleo, I just count calories, but I know a lot of people on myfitnesspal are into it. So many people have issues with wheat these days. These remind me of the coconut macaroon recipe a friend who only does raw foods makes. She makes them in the dehydrator.

    • nice! I make these without the coconut topping and a little more banana as muffins to eat daily. They are extremely filling and great for breakfast. I cut out the nuts sometimes when I don’t have them (makes them lower cal) and love the recipe still:]

  2. What a lovely blog! I don’t follow foodie ones in general because they make me feel hungry and inadequate, and I begrudge time spent in the kitchen.

    That aside I adore coconut, hate walnuts and like your style.

Leave a Reply

