chicken piccata

This recipe is a light and fresh change of pace from the more heavy and cheesy Italian dishes I usually cook. There is very little clean up needed and it looks beautiful on any table. Oh and did I mention it’s delicious? Win, win, win!

When gathering ingredients, I stopped by World Market to grab a couple. I love that they have so many amazing items at very reasonable prices.

Ingredients: 

1 tablespoon sundried tomatoes
2 tablespoons balsamic capers (regular capers are fine too)
2/3 cup low sodium chicken stock
2/3 cups pinot
2 lemons (Cut one long ways, save 1/2, and hand squeeze the remaining 1 and 1/2. Do not oversqueeze, you do not need every last drop.)
1 handfull of flour
a few shakes of pepper
a few shakes of salt
4 chicken fillets (a little over a pound)
1 shallot (chopped up)
olive oil on hand
a couple tablespoons of butter

Cooking: 

I began by giving each chicken fillet a tiny sprinkle of salt on both sides. After that, I combined my flour and pepper on a plate and coated each fillet with the mixture. Once they were all coated, I fried each fillet until golden brown. I kept the pan on medium and only used enough olive oil to coat the bottom, pouring more when necessary.

When the fillets were done, I set them aside, and tossed my shallot in the same pan. I still had a bit of olive oil in the pan, but if you don’t, feel free to add a dab. When I started to smell the shallot, I added the lemon slices and the wine. After that was done sizzling a little, and I had scraped the bottom of the pan well to harness all the little bits of flavor, I added the chicken stock. I let the mixture reduce for a few minutes before adding the capers, lemon juice, and the sun dried tomatoes. I let everything commingle, and let the sauce reduce quite a bit before adding the butter. There is no exact science to this recipe, just look at the sauce and make sure it is not too watery. After adding the butter, I let the sauce simmer for one more minute, then poured it over my chicken fillets. I served it with al dente angel hair pasta, and a light salad.

This Dinner was so lovely and colorful. It really brightened up my table and definitely made my family smile :]

27 thoughts on “chicken piccata

  1. This looks SO good! Wish I could have made it for dinner last night love! … with mine I add chopped up green olives and it takes it over the top – next time I am adding sundried tomotoes too!! :D

Leave a Reply

