japanese tea cakes

 

This may be my favorite recipe so far. I have cravings for these babies all the time. They have a much thicker consistency than cake, are tasty and moist all the way through, and make tea time fabulous.

Ingredients:

1 lemon
organic coconut oil (to grease dishes)
15 tbs butter (set the butter out on the counter immediately)
1/3 cup light brown sugar; and 1/3 cup white sugar plus 4 tbs
3 tbs honey (I used a lovely, raw, local, orange blossom honey.)
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 eggs
1 and 1/2 cups all purpose flour mixed with 1 tsp baking powder
1 Asian pear

Directions: 

First, I put 2 tbs of butter, 4 tbs white sugar, and squeezed the lemon into a pan on medium heat. When everything was relatively well melted and mixed, I added the asian pear, which I had cored, peeled, and sliced. I turned the heat up to high, and cooked the pear for a few minutes, evenly on each side. Then, I removed the pan from the hot burner and set the contents aside.

For the batter, I added the rest of the butter, all the sugar remaining, and the honey in a bowl. I am obsessed with the local, organic, raw honey I buy from jammin’ jelly’s (jamminjellys.com for info). I beat everything with a hand held mixer, until smooth. Then, I added vanilla and cracked the eggs in, while beating the batter on low. When everything was commingled, I folded in the flour, and my batter was ready.

I greased 5 souffle dishes with my organic coconut oil, and turned the oven to 325. Then, I placed about 3 pear slices at the bottom of each dish, and distributed the sauce at the bottom of the pan equally among the 5 dishes. Then, I equally distributed the batter. This recipe makes a relatively thick batter, so I used one silicone spatula to scoop, and one to scrape. Once all the dishes contained batter, I smoothed the tops over with my spatula, and they went into my preheated oven. The cakes took between 20 and 30 minutes to bake. I watched them to make sure their tops were very golden brown before I took them out. If you do not wait long enough, when you flip each dish, the bottom will be doughy and soggy. Once the cakes were all ready and out of the oven, I took a butter knife and wedged it against the sides of my souffle dishes. It was very easy to then flip each dish and the cakes came out smoothly. Each one was perfect! I grabbed one, snapped a quick photo, then my friends and I enjoyed tea and cakes.

The day after making these wonderful tea cakes, I realized I didn’t have any pictures of one cut open, so I poured myself a cup of tea and enjoyed the last tea cake for breakfast. Even the next day, the cake looked beautiful, and retained it’s most texture. I cannot imagine a better tea time treat!

A great tea recipe to pair with these cakes is my friend’s tranquil and heart warming ginger lemon cha.

24 thoughts on “japanese tea cakes

  1. This looks really yummy! Can I use the normal pear? I always have pear in the house for my daughter so this is a nice cake that maybe she will also eat. Thanks a lot for sharing the recipe.

    • Asian pear = Apple pear = Japanese pear = Chinese pear = Oriental pear = Sand pear = Nashi = Salad pear :] I wrestled with what to call it, because I call it an apple pear normally, but my mother doesn’t. Anyway, how would you like to link?

      • Exactly whatever you call it does not matter. This little tea cake is delicious! We could just simply edit our posts to include the link to each other websites at the end of the post that with it would be great along with….

  2. Pingback: Tranquil and Heart Warming Ginger Lemon Cha « Bam's Kitchen

  3. These look absolutely beautiful — no wonder they’re your favorite! I like that this doesn’t make a HUGE batch, too — just enough for tea — and breakfast! :)

  4. Pingback: frutti di mare | filing away cupcakes

Leave a Reply

