vday bacon and maple syrup biscuits

I finally found some strength today to make something nice for John. He won’t be in town on Vday, so I have to do all the sweet things for him early. I decided to start out by making him bacon and maple syrup biscuits from scratch for breakfast.

The Ingredients are: 1/2 pack of bacon, about 2 & 3/4 cups flour, 1 tbs sugar, 1/2 tbs brown sugar, 1/2 tbs baking powder, 1/4 tbs baking soda, about 1 teaspoon salt, 1 stick butter (room temperature and diced up), a little more than 1/2 a cup of syrup (keep the syrup on hand), 1/2 cup buttermilk (or milk with a few lemon drops in it), 1 egg, and a splash of heavy cream.

First, I chopped up and cooked the bacon. I did not want the bacon too crispy, so I watched it closely. I cooked mine with love, can you tell?

Next, I mixed 1 and 3/4 cups flour, all the sugar, salt, baking soda, and baking powder in a large bowl. Then, I smashed the butter into the dry ingredients. Then, I added the bacon (I tried my best to avoid the grease), 1/2 cup syrup, and buttermilk. I just mixed the goo up as best I could and it looked pretty mushy, like the picture above.

Once I had my goo ready, I dusted a countertop with flour and plopped the goo onto it. Then I began folding handful after handful of flour into the goo, until I had folded in about another cup. The goo felt more dry and workable when it was right.

I picked a cookie cutter that was metal and sturdy. I needed to press down pretty hard a couple times to get through the bacon bits in the dough.

Once all the little hearts were cut out, I chilled them in the freezer until they were cool to the touch.

While the hearts were in the freezer, I beat an egg in a bowl with a splash of cream. When the hearts were ready to come out of the freezer, I brushed them with the creamy egg mixture, gave them each a tiny pinch of salt, and then popped them in the oven. They baked for about 20 minutes at 350°. Once they were brown I took them out, drizzled a little syrup on top, and then popped them in for another minute.

When the biscuits came out, they were flaky and good. I don’t need to tell you how good they were; you saw the ingredients and the pictures. Find out for yourself this Valentines Day! As I have said before, my man did not want some dainty little tart; he wanted real food, and so did I.

13 thoughts on “vday bacon and maple syrup biscuits

  1. I love that you made these in the shape of hearts. I must see if I have a heart shaped cookie cutter. I used to but haven’t seen it, in a while.

Leave a Reply

