peanut butter, chocolate, oatmeal cookies

My best friend Kristen, who now lives in Denver, the poor cold thing, taught me how to make these cookies. I added the chocolate drizzle because I love the combination. I have been making these cookies for a while now and was shocked when I realized I had never made these for my boyfriend, John. John loves sweets as much as I do, which is probably more than anyone else we know.

This is a very fast stovetop cookie recipe. I was able to make them quickly before John had to drive home. He lives 2 hours from where I live. Yep, we are long distance. That fact may explain why I have so much time to work on my brand new blog.

I will warn you, the chocolate adds time because it needs to cool in the fridge. If you don’t have a lot of time you may want to just make peanut butter cookies. The proportions I am giving you only make a small batch (13 cookies this time), so you may want to adjust the recipe if you have a lot of people over.

Ingredients:

1 & 1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup butter
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups oatmeal
2/3 cup peanut butter
1 handful of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips

I apologize for not having many pictures of the process. I made the cookies in a rush when I remembered I needed to let them sit in the fridge for around 30 minutes after the chocolate was drizzled on.

That was the last step though, the first step is to add all the ingredients, but the oatmeal, peanut butter, and chocolate into a saucepan. Turn your burner to medium high and then high when everything is melted. Bring the ingredients to a boil and keep everything boiling for 2 minutes. Then start melting your chocolate in a double boiler, or however you usually melt chocolate. Then take the saucepan off the heat and mix the oatmeal in. Once the oatmeal is mixed in, add the peanut butter. Do not add too much peanut butter or your cookies will not turn out well! Once the peanut buter is mixed in, take a second to put parchment paper on a baking sheet. Then take out 2 spoons. With one of the spoons, grab a scoop of your mixture. With the other spoon, help the first spoon form a cookie shape onto the parchment paper. Repeat until the mixture is all in cookie form.

Once all the cookies are on the sheet. Drizzle the chocolate on. I used a heaping spoon full on each cookie. Then, as I have said before, put the whole baking sheet in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. When the chocolate is very dark again the cookies are cooled.

This cookie recipe was an easy way to make my boyfriend smile and let him know I am willing to take the extra time to make him cookies from scratch. I brought a couple cookies to class and I think my friends were pretty happy with them as well.

9 thoughts on “peanut butter, chocolate, oatmeal cookies

Leave a Reply

