leslie’s birthday chocolate chip cheesecake

I had gotten it into my head that I would bake my friend Leslie a cheesecake for her birthday. I thought I could definitely just wing it because I had heard that they were pretty easy to make. Luckily enough, I told my friend Amber about my silly idea to use a pie tin and throw together a cheesecake. She laughed. I didn’t even know that there were special springform cheesecake pans!

Amber was super sweet and taught me a simple cheesecake recipe her family has been using for years (extra morsels were the only modification). Simple, easy, delicious, and decadent. No wonder Amber’s family is so smitten with this recipe!

We started by preheating the oven to 325 and smushing one log of pre-made pillsbury chocolate chip cookie dough down into the springform pan. This formed the crust of the cheesecake. Amber choose a wider pan so that the cheesecake would be big rather than tall. Since 12 people went to Leslie’s party, I think it was a good choice. Although a taller cheesecake would have been more stately.

To make the filling, we combined:  3 thawed containers of philadelphia cream cheese, a little less than a cup and 1/2 of sugar, 5 large eggs, and a tablespoon of vanilla extract, in a large bowl.

Once everything was in the bowl, Amber flipped on her mixer and blended everything together for 10 minutes. When the filling was smooth we added a cup of chocolate morsels. In the end the chocolate morsels sunk to the bottom, but they were still very delicious.

This is what your mix should look like when you put it in the springform pan. There shouldn’t be any big lumps left. There may be a few tiny lumps, but that is alright. Put the mix in the oven for about an hour and 15 minutes.

This is what the finished cheesecake would look like, if we had decided not to put anything else on it. Because the cake was for Leslie’s birthday, we decided to make it more festive looking.

The topping was made of 8 ounces of sour cream, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla whisked together.

Once the topping was smooth we poured it onto the cake in little clumps, making sure it was evenly distributed.

Amber spread the topping across the cake. She barely touched both the cake and the topping. This was very delicate business.

As a final decoration, Amber added more morsels in the shape of an “L” for Leslie.

Once it was decorated, the whole thing had to go back into the oven for 10 minutes. The finished cheesecake had to sit out until it was cool (about an hour and a half). Then it sat in the fridge all day to make sure it was really solidified before Leslie’s party. Putting a cheesecake immediately into the fridge will cause it to crack. Once a cheesecake is cooled enough for the fridge, I would recommend letting it sit in there for at least 12 hours.

The cheesecake was gorgeous and everyone at the table loved it! Since we were at a restaurant, we had to hack away at it with butter knives and forks. That didn’t make for very pretty slices, but it tasted amazing nonetheless.

Thans again Amber and happy birthday Leslie!

13 thoughts on “leslie’s birthday chocolate chip cheesecake

  1. Glad to see you took on cheesecake! most people are intimidated but it’s super simple. Opinions on cheesecake ranger from light to heavy, complex to simple and decadent to (god forbid) healthy. I always think a cheesecake should weigh 10 times what it looks like it should weigh – so when you are handed a slice the plate tips in the persons hand as if to say, do you really know what you are getting into? or well if any thief tries to break into my house, I can use this as a weapon! – this however leads to waking up periodically throughout the night looking for burglars in a proactive foray in home safety and eating more cheesecake in the process.

    Like anything surprising simple one must be careful not to “gild the lily”… it’s amazing subtle changes can impact the taste dramatically – in the cheeses (farmers, neufchatel or ricotta for example) or change in crust.

    If I may… for an additional 10 minutes prep time and using the Tollhouse cookie recipe (not the log, the recipe) rather than a preservative filed cookie log with notes of butylated hydroxyanisole would have elevated this to something higher, more pure than some sort of Easy Entertaining* idea from Rachel Ray.

    *if entertaining is easy you are doing it wrong. Proper entertaining requires the dedication and the suffering of a Catholic saint. One should suffer (silently) so that others appreciate the lengths to which you are willing to sacrifice your time, energy and money to provide an amazing event. When one entertains properly, one is rewarded with the respect and adoration of friends and family (and Ideally contempt and rivalry if done properly). This level of dedication is worth the blood, tears, and sweat (not a metaphor…try squeezing 40 key limes after assembling 20 fresh holly wreaths as guests are on their way) Your guests can tell.

  2. Thank you for the critique! I definitely need advice like this. I am just going along making recipes, using old ones, and getting them from friends, so if you have any good ones let me know. With the cheesecake I really had no idea what to do, so my friend helped me do a simple one for my first time. Please keep the comments coming and thanks again!

  3. Hi, my son has put in an order for cheesecake for this weekend so I guess I will be taking on that project. And about your award, it was “Food Is My Life” who presented the award to you (this may be a second person, not sure). It is the Jan. 29th post. YEA!!!

  4. Wow this cheesecake has me drooling – I love the photography tutorial and I am absolutely dying now for some good cheesecake… thank you!
    I am really enjoying your blog 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Pingback: paleo pasta aka spaghetti squash | filing away cupcakes

Leave a Reply

