butterscotch pumpkin cookies

My mom originally got this recipe from a low sodium cookbook. We have altered it a little throughout the years, but have kept the recipe low sodium. These cookies are surprisingly moistdelicious, and have a delightful cake-like texture to them. They are not your average cookies. You would never guess that the original recipe came from a healthy cookbook. They are perfect for thanksgiving because of their orange color, but are great all year round. I like to give them to people around christmas because they are obviously made with love and are not too sweet, which is usually a concern when giving out baked goods. I also feel pretty good knowing that they are not as unhealthy as most cookies, so I know I’m not wrecking anyone’s diet.

I gave these cookies to my boyfriend’s family last year. We had been dating 8 months and I guess I was probably trying to impress him. It worked! I know he would have loved me for my charming wit, unwavering patience, utter humility, beauty, elegant nature, and clever antics, among my other admirable qualities, but the cookies were a nice add-on.

Ingredients/ baking materials: 

2 bowls – one medium sized bowl for the dry ingredients and one larger bowl for the wet ingredients (ultimately the larger bowl will hold everything)

silicone spatula

electric mixer

ice cream scoop- I used a small one so I could make a lot of smaller cookies. I usually use a big one and make larger, more impressive looking cookies. The recipe is the same either way.

baking sheet

parchment paper, greased with butter, and placed onto the baking sheet

cooling rack

2 cups unbleached flour

1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 heaping tsp cinnamon

2 cage free eggs (very important that they are cage free, otherwise your cookies will explode)

1 cup regular sugar

around 1/2 cup corn oil (I use a little less)

2/3 can pumpkin, about a cup (if you use too much your cookies will become loose and look like cow pies)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup butterscotch chips

You can add nuts if you would like. I like walnuts, but my brother doesn’t, so I didn’t add any. If you want them, add them when you add the butterscotch.

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375. 2. With your silicone spatula mix all the dry ingredients, except sugar, together in the medium bowl. 3. On medium speed mix the sugar and eggs together in the larger bowl, until they are well mixed. 4. Then add the pumpkin, vanilla, and oil in while keeping the mixer on slow speed. 5. Incorporate the dry ingredients. 6. Add the butterscotch chips. 7. With your ice cream scoop, scoop about 9 cookies onto the parchment covered baking sheet. You can get really OCD and make perfect cookies, this batch was made hastily and I think they are still pretty beautiful. 8. Cook each set for about fifteen minutes, then place them onto your cooling rack.

3 thoughts on “butterscotch pumpkin cookies

Leave a Reply

