quick korean noodle lunch

I love spicy food!

I am a law student and naturally find myself on the go a lot, with no time to go to a restaurant for lunch, or to make myself something nice. When I am in the mood for spicy food and a little too much sodium, I make myself Shin Ramyun noodles. The noodles come in an assortment of flavors (beef is my favorite) and are a lot more grown up than Ramen noodles. Do not be surprised when choosing a flavor if it does not taste exactly like the flavor it purports to be. They are like Ramen noodles in that way. I would definitely give them a try if you like spicy asian food, especially since making them takes minimal effort and they are sooooo goood! I love them so much, I asked my aunt to bring me socks with their package design back from Korea this year. I had seen her daughter wearing the socks the year before and could not wait to get a pair myself. So thanks again Aunt E!

When you make the noodles, you can follow the directions on the back of the package. However, I have a few tips and tricks for making them. I would strongly suggest you at least read tip #3 to avoid making your noodles too spicy or not spicy enough for the more adventurous eaters out there.

Where to find them:

They can be found in most asian stores, and depending on the asian population in your area, your local Walmart asian isle. I would suggest calling Walmart ahead of time.

Important tips:

1. I don’t like the dried vegetables in the vegetable packet and would not suggest adding them to your meal. If you really want a veggie in there and you have other asian veggies, like fresh bok choy, feel free to add that into the mix instead. You would add the substitute vegetable around the time you add the noodles.

2. Some people like to add an egg to this dish. I think adding one is delicious, but if this is your first time I would sick to the basics. If you do add one, just crack the egg in after you add the noodles while the water is still boiling. I don’t scramble the egg before hand because it incorporates itself nicely whole.

3. Some people find this dish too spicy. If you do not have a high tolerance for spicy food I would suggest only adding half the packet of seasoning, and keeping the packet with you to possibly add more seasoning later. If you really love spicy food, I would make the noodles and then add the whole seasoning packet once the noodles are in your bowl in front of you.  Adding the packet after the noodles have stopped boiling and are in your bowl makes them a little spicier than adding the packet into the pot. Your fist time I would stick to the directions and keep a glass of juice handy just in case;]

3 thoughts on “quick korean noodle lunch

  1. These are an absolute fave! We always have some on hand (currently two packets) and I’m nuts about the spice!!! It’s ok to have a tand by and as you mentioned, it’s traditional to add n egg, or lettuce, ham etc, well spotted! Nice to know other folks adore these too 🙂

Leave a Reply

