easy crock pot japanese curry

I absolutely love Japanese food and one of my favorites is Japanese curry. What makes it even better is that it is sooooo easy to make! I have grown to love cooking, but I LOVE eating, so the easiest recipes are the nearest and dearest to my heart.

Ingredients:

1 box of curry sauce mix (I like medium hot, but if you are not used to spicy food use mild. You can always add sriracha later. You can get this at all asian stores and also many Publix or Walmart supermarkets. I would suggest calling ahead.)

1/2 to 2/3 lb beef or chicken (I used stew beef because it is already chopped perfectly.)

1/2 an onion

1 large potato

3 carrots

First, I put the beef at the bottom of the crock-pot. Then I popped the curry mix out of the box and placed it on top of the meat.

I had pre-chopped and peeled all the vegetables beforehand, so I just threw them all on the pile. As a rule, I always keep the carrots closer to the top because they take less time to cook. I never really measure the water out, but just like any stew-like meal, I put in enough to cover the meat. Then, I just put the crock-pot on high for about 2 hours then low for 3. I tried to remember to stir the curry every now and then. When it is done, you will know. It is not an exact science. You can change the cooking temp and time according to stew recipes you may know.

I have a rice cooker and made myself a couple cups of rice, but if you do not have one, I suggest you try making jasmine rice in a pot. Do not use Uncle Ben’s or any other instant rice!

I like keeping some sriracha and some low sodium soy sauce on hand, but the curry tastes fantastic on its own! When it comes to ease and taste, you really can’t beat this recipe:]

13 thoughts on “easy crock pot japanese curry

  1. This looks very good! I don’t have a crock pot but I guess if I stew the beef over a long time at low heat, I will still achieve this amazing goodness and softness of the curry. ;-)

  2. This looks like snazzy beef stew! I am just about positive that this golden curry box of happy is completely unavailable in this rural mecca I’m stuck in (ethnic? what’s that?) but I think I might try to recreate it without the mix. Also, I dig the roosters <—-
    Thanks for the japanese+crock pot inspiration!

  3. So happy to hear Japanese curry on your post. :-) I don’t own a crock pot, but my life will be alot easier if I can make curry with it! Looks good! Curry is always go to recipe for me when I’m busy. Looks good and now I got cravings for curry!

Leave a Reply

